Republic of the Philippines Province of Cagayan TUGUEGARAO CITY

NINTH CITY COUNCIL

COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 046-2025

January 14, 2025

Submitted by: <u>COMMITTEE ON T</u>

COMMITTEE ON TOURISM, CULTURE AND ARTS

PRESENT:

HON. IMOGEN CLAIRE M. CALLANGAN

HON. MARC ALDOUS C. BACCAY

HON. TIRSO V. MANGADA HON. JUDE T. BAYONA

HON. MARIA ROSARIO B. SORIANO

HON. KARINA S. GAUANI-VIERNES

HON. RESTITUTO C. RAMIREZ

- Chair (Tourism, Culture and Arts)
-Chair (Rules, Laws, and Ethics)

- Vice Chair (Tourism, Culture and Arts)

-Vice Chair (Rules, Laws, and Ethics)

- Member (Tourism, Culture and Arts) (Rules, Laws and Ethics)

-Member (Tourism, Culture and Arts)

- Ex-Officio Member (via zoom)

RESOURCE PERSON:

MR. JHONNY CALUBAQUIB

MS. GINA T. ADDUCUL

MS. CHONA Q. SEDANO

MS. ANGELINA T. SOMERA

MS. LUTHGARDA T. BINGCANG

- City Administrator

- City Tourism Officer

- City Planning & Development

Coordinator

- City Accounting Officer

- City Budget Officer

GUESTS:

HON. BIENVENIDO C. DE GUZMAN

HON. MARY MARJORIE MARTIN-CHAN

- City Vice Mayor

- City Councilor

SUBJECT:

Indorsement of the City Mayor, Hon. Maila Rosario S. Ting-Que, on the draft Memorandum of Agreement between and among the Tuguegarao City Government, Mr. Edimar P. Cayaba, EnP, Writer amd Mr. Jester Seth D. Malenab, Editor, relative to the crafting of the Tourism Development Plan, certified urgent.

FINDINGS:

- The Republic Act No. 9593, also known as the "Tourism Act of 2009," mandates local government units to develop and implement tourism plans that is aligned with national policies and strategies.
- 2. The Tourism development and promotion are among the functions of Local Government Units (LGUs) as mandated by the Local Government Code of 1991 (RA 7160). As Local Governments shifted to more participatory forms of development governance, they are also encouraging to enjoin other stakeholders in local tourism development and promotion.
- 3. That the LGU-Tuguegarao City completed Phases 1 to 7 in crafting the Tuguegarao City Tourism Development Plan 2023-2032. The phases are as follows:

Phase 1: Orientation and Introduction (November 2019)

Phase 2: Write shops (December 2019)

Phase 3: Consolidation (December 2021)

Phase 4: Packaging (April 2022)

Phase 5: Presentation to other stakeholders (October 2023)

Phase 6: Public Hearing (August 2024)

Phase 7: Final Consolidation (December 2024)

- 4. That Mr. Edimar P. Cayaba, as the writer of the said plan, and Mr. Jester Seth P. Malenab, serving as its editor, have played pivotal roles in its development. In acknowledgment of their substantial contributions, they shall receive a collective honorarium amounting to ₱100,000.00. The disbursement of this honorarium shall be duly allocated from the Contingency Fund under the Tuguegarao City Development Fund, ensuring compliance with relevant financial guidelines and budgetary provisions.
- 5. That the Contract of Service is deemed more appropriate than the Memorandum of Agreement for the said endorsement, as it better aligns with the nature of the engagement, the scope of responsibilities, and the legal framework governing such contractual arrangements.

RECOMMENDATION:

Finding the endorsement of City Mayor Hon. Maila Rosario S. Ting-Que, on the draft Memorandum of Agreement between and among the Tuguegarao City Government, Mr. Edimar P. Cayaba, EnP, Writer and Mr. Jester Seth D. Malenab, Editor, relative to the crafting of the Tourism Development Plan to be in order and beneficial to the constituents of Tuguegarao City, the joint committees recommend executing a Contract of Service.

Respectfully submitted by:

HON. IMOGEN CLAIRE M. CALLANGAN

Chairman

Committee on Tourism, Culture and Arts

HON. MARC ALDOUS C. BACCAY

Chairman

Committee on Rules, Laws and Ethics

11

HON. MARIA ROSARIO B. SORIANO

Committee on Tourism, Culture and Arts Committee on Rules, Laws and Ethics

HON. KARINA Š. GAŬAN

Member

Member

Committee on Tourism, Culture and Arts

HON. TINSQ V. MANGADA

Vice Chair

Committee on Tourism, Culture and Arts

HON. JUDE T. BAYONA

Vice Chair

Committee on Rules, Laws, and Ethics

HON. RESTITUTO C. RAMIREZ

Member

Committee on Tourism, Culture and Arts