

# Republic of the Philippines Province of Cagayan TUGUEGARAO CITY



#### NINTH CITY COUNCIL\*

# **COMMITTEE REPORT**

June 03, 2025

# Submitted by:

# COMMITTEE ON INFRASTRUCTURE AND PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMITTEE ON RULES, LAWS, AND ETHICS

### PRESENT:

HON. MARK ANGELO B. DAYAG

HON. MARY MARJORIE P. MARTIN-

**CHAN** 

HON. RONALDO S. ORTIZ

HON, MARC ALDOUS C. BACCAY

HON. JUDE T. BAYONA

HON. MARIA ROSARIO B. SORIANO

HON. GRACE B. ARAGO

-Chair, Committee on Infrastructure and

Public Utilities

-Vice Chair, Committee on Infrastructure

and Public Utilities

-Member, Committee on Infrastructure and

Public Utilities

-Chair, Committee on Rules, Laws, and

Ethics

-Member, Committee on Infrastructure and

Public Utilities

-Vice Chair, Committee on Rules, Laws,

and Ethics

-Member, Committee on Rules, Laws, and

Ethics (via Zoom)

-Member, Committee on Rules, Laws, and

Ethics (via Zoom)

#### **RESOURCE PERSONS:**

ATTY. RODERICK S. IQUIN ENGR. WENCESLAO ARAO, JR.

CHONA Q. SEDANO

ENGR. JAYLORD A. DE ASIS

ARCH. MARIO C. QUILANG, JR.

- City Legal Officer

- City Engineer

- City Planning & Development Coordinator

-Chief, PDS, Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Cagayan Third District Engineering Office (CTDEO)

-Architect II, DPWH CTDEO

# FOR THE PRESIDING-OFFICER:

The Joint Committee met and deliberated on the referral:

# COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 125 -2025

# **SUBJECT:**

"Letter of the Chief, Construction Section, Cagayan 3rd District Engineering Office of the DPWH, Mr. Victor L. Espanol, on the Guidelines on the Release of Funds for New Items of Appropriations Categorized as Conditional Implementation under FY 2025 General Appropriations Act for additional projects identified by the DPWH-Central Office which requires for City Resolution endorsing such projects."

#### ACTION TAKEN:

The members of the committees met to discuss the subject matter with the presence of the resource persons.

# FINDINGS:

- 1.) The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Cagayan Third District Engineering Office (CTDEO) wrote two separate letters dated May 19, 2028, and May 28, 2025 addressed to the City Vice Mayor, Hon. Bienvenido C. De Guzman II, the latter of which is the subject of this committee report, reiterating the provisions of the Fiscal Year 2025 General Appropriations Act (GAA) and the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) guidelines under DBM National Budget Circular for the release of funds from the 2025 GAA;
- 2.) The foregoing guidelines provide the specific requirements to facilitate the release of funds for new appropriations categorized as Conditional Implementation (CI) of several projects of the DPWH in Tuguegarao City;
- 3.) Among the requirements is a City Resolution from the Sangguniang Panlungsod (SP) of Tuguegarao endorsing such projects for implementation, and appropriate resolutions from the City Development Council (CDC).
- 4.) The deadline for submission of the said requirements by the DPWH is on June 30, 2025.
- 5.) The joint committee deemed it proper to refer the matter to the City Mayor to convene the City Development Council for the adoption of the programs, projects, and activities (PPAs) through a CDC resolution which can be later on endorsed to the SP.

#### RECOMMENDATION:

After discussing the subject matter, this Joint Committee respectfully urges the DPWH CTDEO to submit a letter addressed to the City Mayor, Hon. Maila Rosario S. Ting-Que, requesting for the City Development Council (CDC) to convene and tackle the said subject matter. The joint committee further recommends the following:

- 1. For the City Engineering Office to coordinate with the DPWH CTDEO regarding the guidelines for City projects.
- 2. For DPWH CTDEO to align their PPAs with the Annual Investment Program (AIP) and the Local Development Plan (LDP) of the City so that there will be no duplication of projects to be implemented or funded.

Let a copy of this Committee Report be forwarded to the DPWH CTDEO and the Office of the City Mayor for information and appropriate action.

HON. MARK ANGILLO B. DAYAG
Chairman, Committee on Infrastructure and Public Utilities

HON. MARY MARJORIE P. MARTIN-CHAN
Vice Chair, Committee on Infrastructure and Public Utilities

HON. RONALDO S. ORTIZ

Member, Committee on Infrastructure and Public Utilities

HON. MARK ALDOUS C. BACCAY
Chairman, Committee on Rules, Laws, and Ethics

Member, Committee on Infrastructure and Public Utilities

HON. JUDY T. BAYONA
Vice Chair, Committee on Rules, Ilaws, and Ethics

HON. MARIA ROSARIO B. SORIANO
Member, Committee on Rules, Laws, and Ethics

Member, Committee on Rules, Laws, and Ethics